RoboPet Life > Guide > Living with Robots
Compared using official info for 9 modelsCan You Have a Robot Pet in a No-Pets Rental or with Animal Allergies? How to Check Your Lease and Official Info [2026 Edition]
"My apartment doesn't allow pets, but would a robot be OK?" "Can I live with one even if I'm allergic to animals?" Both are common questions before buying. How a robot is treated under a lease varies by property, and only some manufacturers address allergies officially. In this article, we lay out what to check, and in what order, based on official information for 9 models and the standard lease agreement published by Japan's Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT).
Shop links: the buttons in this article link to online stores in your region. When an affiliate program applies, RoboPet Life may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Marketplaces also list items from sellers other than the official maker, so please check the seller and warranty before you buy.
What you'll learn in this article
- In a no-pets rental: which parts of your lease to check
- On animal allergies: what official sources do and don't say
- Across 9 models: size, movement, exterior, noise and charging compared
- What to watch in a rental: noise, floors and walls (key points)
- Before buying: 8-item checklist
Robots are not living creatures, but what "no pets" covers is determined by your lease and building rules. Under MLIT's standard lease agreement, what requires consent is "keeping animals" such as dogs and cats. None of the official information for the 9 models we researched states whether the robot is permitted in rentals. If you're unsure, the surest approach is to ask your management company, giving the model name and size.
On animal allergies, LOVOT officially states that "people with animal allergies can live with it too," and Moflin states that "it will not cause allergies." The other 7 models have no official statement. Robots do collect dust, so check the care instructions as well.
Can You Keep One in a No-Pets Rental? How to Check Your Lease

MLIT's "Standard Lease Agreement for Rental Housing" (2018 edition) classifies keeping animals such as dogs and cats as an act requiring the landlord's written consent. However, the appended schedule can be changed or added to for each property, so what "no pets" actually means is determined by your lease and its special provisions. Whether robots are covered is stated neither in the standard agreement nor in any manufacturer's official information.
Check whether it only says "keeping animals," or uses broader wording such as "all pets" or "including non-living things."
In condominium rentals or buildings with a management association, rules may be set out separately from the lease.
It's easier to get your point across if you say something like "It's a plush-type robot that runs on batteries or an outlet, not a living creature" and show photos and dimensions from the official site.
To prevent trouble later, keep a record by email or similar, not just a verbal answer.
Is It OK with Animal Allergies? What Official Sources Say

Japan's Ministry of the Environment guidelines on keeping dogs and cats note that animal hair, dander and excrement can trigger allergic reactions. Robot pets have no hair, dander or excrement like living animals. However, within our research, only 2 models, LOVOT and Moflin, officially state that they are "fine even with allergies".
- LOVOT: The official blog explains that "people with animal allergies can live with it too" and "there's no need to clean up fur"
- Moflin: The official site explains that "you will not develop animal allergies from Moflin"
- KATA Friends, NICOBO, Poketomo, Romi, RoBoHoN, BOCCO emo, Fuzozo
- For some models, only the exterior material or care method is published officially (see table below)
Models with fabric, knit or fur exteriors can collect dust. According to official guidance, LOVOT needs brushing about once a week; Moflin should be wiped with a well-wrung towel and then brushed; NICOBO should be wiped with a well-wrung cloth and then wiped dry; and dust on Poketomo should be brushed off with a dry, soft toothbrush.
Comparing 9 Models | Size, Movement, Exterior, Noise and Charging

In a rental, the space needed, whether it moves around, and noise are useful clues when choosing. We've listed the items stated on official sites.
| Model | Device price / monthly fee | Size / weight | Movement | Exterior / care | Noise | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ¥39,600 (Mujaki type)Monthly fee of ¥495–¥3,300 required | Approx. 67×117×64mmApprox. 194g | Self-propelled movement not statedCaution to keep the surroundings clear | Flocked resinBrush off dust with a toothbrush | Volume control, manner switch | Charger and desktop holder sold separately | |
| ¥19,800 (Basic)No monthly fee | 90×77×67mmApprox. 140g | Self-propelled movement not stated | Material not stated | Not stated | USB-C, approx. 3 hours | |
| ¥64,900 (Sakura color)No monthly fee (optional membership ¥6,600/year) | Approx. 130×90×180mmApprox. 260g | Stationary (carried in your arms) | Faux fur (acrylic)Not washable; brush and wipe | Volume control via appSilent at minimum volume / deep sleep mode | Manually place in house, approx. 3.5 hours | |
| ¥98,780¥1,958/month (free for 3 months after registration) | 112×111×100mmApprox. 400g | Doesn't roam (moves in place) | Material not stated | Up to 70–75dBVolume control, can be muted | Manual, USB-C, approx. 2 hours | |
| ¥239,800 (LTE)Monthly fee of ¥1,078 required | Approx. 105×198×58mmApprox. 395g | Walks on two legs in placeKeep at least 20cm from the edge of a desk | Resin | dB not statedOperating noise may be picked up during calls | Manual, desktop holder, approx. 130 min | |
| ¥52,800No monthly fee required (optional plan ¥1,700/month) | Approx. 9–10cm square, approx. 14–15cm tall400g | Stationary | ABS resin, elastomer | Adjust with the nose knobVolume zero when turned fully left | Always plugged into an outlet | |
| ¥60,500 (regular price)¥1,100/month | 228×176×236mmApprox. 1.5kg | Doesn't move around (tail, rotation, swaying) | KnitWipe to clean; replacement is paid | Volume control, sleep time setting | Placed on its bed, approx. 4–7 hours | |
| ¥129,800Monthly fee from ¥1,980 required for continued use | 400×270×370mmWeight not stated | Self-propelled, roams around | Fluffy coatMaterial name not stated | Under approx. 30dB walking, under approx. 40dB moving | Returns to its den automatically | |
| ¥577,500 (for orders through 10/25)Monthly fee of ¥9,900–¥19,800 required | Approx. 280×430×260mm when heldApprox. 4.6kg | Self-propelled, roams around the house | Artificial suedeBrushing about once a week | dB not statedAdjust with volume buttons | Returns to its nest on its own |
← Scroll the table sideways →
* Compiled by the editorial team based on manufacturers' official sites and other sources (checked Oct 12, 2026). Prices include tax. "Not stated" means the item could not be found in official sources. LOVOT's price is scheduled to change to ¥599,500 from Oct 26, 2026. Moflin's size and weight are from the instruction manual (model PE-M10) and have not been confirmed for the PE-M11, released in September 2026. BOCCO emo's dimensions differ between the official store and the English version of the official site, so we give a range. KATA Friends' operating noise figures are from an official support article (English version). Romi's official store showed "sold out" as of Oct 12, 2026. NICOBO's campaign price varies by period.
Where to buy the main models
What to Watch in a Rental | Noise, Floors and Walls

KATA Friends is officially stated to produce under approx. 30dB when walking and under approx. 40dB when moving. Romi reaches up to 70–75dB, with volume control and mute available. Many models don't publish nighttime operating noise in dB, so check how to turn the volume down and whether there's a quiet function.
LOVOT's official guidance says it can handle steps under about 1.5cm, and that it can get stuck on long-pile carpets. For RoBoHoN, the guidance is to keep it at least 20cm from the edge of a desk and keep its surroundings clear.
Regarding the tape used to fix KATA Friends' den along a wall, official support says it isn't suitable for wallpaper or textured walls and may damage the wall. Avoid any fixing that could fall under your obligation to restore the property when moving out.

For noise and step considerations, reading how to choose between large and small robots by size will help you picture where to put one. For repair and support contacts, see breakdown and repair support, and for how to think about monthly fees, see the difference between models with and without monthly fees.
8-Item Checklist Before Bringing One Home
Check off each item you've been able to confirm through your lease, management company or the official site. Any unchecked items are things you should still confirm before buying.
FAQ
Can I keep a robot pet in a no-pets rental?
Can I live with a robot pet if I have animal allergies?
Will the noise of it moving at night be a problem?
I'm worried about damaging floors or walls.
Which models are easiest to place in a small rental room?
Find a robot by purpose
Sources (checked Oct 12, 2026)
- Lease agreements: MLIT Standard Lease Agreement for Rental Housing (2018 edition) / Notes on preparing the agreement
- Allergies: Ministry of the Environment: Guidelines for Proper Keeping of Dogs and Cats in Densely Populated Residential Areas / Japanese Society of Allergology: Guidance on Environmental Control
- LOVOT: Pricing / Price revision notice / A pet or LOVOT? / LOVOT's living environment / Face care / Voice volume
- Moflin: Official site / News release / Moflin as a pet robot / Handling FAQ / Club Moflin
- KATA Friends: Product page / Pricing and plans / Technology / Support article on noise / How to fix the den
- BOCCO emo: Official site / Monthly fee FAQ / Volume FAQ / Materials FAQ
- Fuzozo: Product page
- Romi: Official landing page / Membership fee FAQ / Volume FAQ / Movement FAQ
- NICOBO: March 2023 announcement / March 2026 announcement / Panasonic Stories
- RoBoHoN: COCORO STORE / COCORO PLAN / Instruction manual
- Poketomo: COCORO STORE / COCORO PLAN for Poketomo / Instruction manual
This content was compiled by the editorial team from manufacturers' publicly available information and has not been verified with actual devices. For decisions about contracts or health, follow your lease, your management company and your doctor's advice. Features and services are subject to change. Photos in this article are for illustration only.







